Story Time

The Ice Queen

Are you guys familiar with wattpad.com?

Well, my friends seemed to be hooked to it. It’s basically a website where you can read or share stories through the net. I signed up a long time ago, but I never posted my own work. I just read stories there, and believe me, there is a lot of good ones there. Anyway, recently I have been writing more often than before, so I thought, why not try posting one of my works there? I tried doing this before on another site called fanfiction.net. It’s just one story which I haven’t even finished yet. The people who review my work there was really nice, they gave me constructive criticisms that help me improve my work. I think that’s what made me want to try posting at wattpad.

The following is a preview of my story, check it out at wattpad here.

***

All students in Southeast High call her the “Ice Queen,” but her real name is Serena Fuentes. Why Ice Queen? You might ask. Well, that is because she has this sang-froid, sarcastic and cold attitude. People are always reluctant to talk to her for the fear of being ignored. But despite her jaded demeanor, she has been kind and caring on occasion. You’d rarely see her laugh, but she smiles when amused.

She likes to keep her brown hair short, a couple of inches above her shoulder blades. She wears brown contacts in order to hide her ocean blue eyes that always catch her fellow students’ attention. You will always see her dressed in style whenever she not in the school’s uniform. Aside from her beauty, she is also one of the best in her class, making this 17-year-old girl popular with boys, as well as the girls, in the whole campus.

As the saying goes, “there is more than meets the eye.” Ice Queen Serena is a mere façade of the real Serena Angelica Fuentes, and only her bestfriends are aware of it. The twins, Tina and Kate Robins, were childhood friends with her so they know Serena’s past. She was born and raised in the Philippines but her mother was English and her father, Japanese. Some people say that she looked a lot like her mother. Their family was liked by people in their neighborhood for their humility in spite of the riches they possess. Sadly, poor little Serena was left alone in this world when her parents died in an accident. Her Aunt Nina took care of her, and treated her as her own. They have been happy for quite some time, but since her Aunt had enough on her plate being a single mother of six, including her, Serena knew she had to go. After she proved herself independent enough to live on her own, she left. Since then, she started living on her own with the money her parents left. She also changed from a bubbly, happy-go-lucky girl to a serious and independent one. She currently resides in a condo along Katipunan where she can freely be herself. It is spacious enough for her to be able to do what she loves the most: dancing.

***

Leave a Reply

