My Daily Bread

The Greatness of God’s Love

For great is your love, reaching to the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the skies. Psalm 57:10

How great is God’s love for us? According to John 3:16, God loves us so much that he gave he only son. Jesus died on the cross for our sins, and God permitted that. We should be on that cross because of our great sins, but still, He sacrificed his son in order to save us. How great then is God’s love for us? It reaches the heavens. It is unlimited. It is unconditional.

I have been ill for a month now. I had severe stomach aches caused by gastritis and because of that, I had to miss several classes. Mind you, exams period are approaching and I’m the type of person who doesn’t learn much when self-studying. I learn better in class. So imagine my dilemma when exams period came, and I’m not sure I know enough. But God is really good. I passed all my exams so far. Bonus: I almost got a perfect score on my Math exam.

How great is God’s faithfulness? When I got sick, I slowly became detached to God. I stopped reading the Bible and listening to worship songs. I rarely go to church. I stopped praying. I thought being sick was an excuse. I thought then, “I’m in pain. I’ll do that tomorrow or whenever I feel better.” Despite all these, God was still faithful. I realized that he was the one who gave me wisdom during my exams. He was the one who gave me strength whenever I go to school. He provided my medicines. He was there. He was always there even though I’m slowly drifting away. How great is God’s faithfulness? My Mom reminded me about Job. He was tested by the devil, and God permitted it. He experienced the worst kind of suffering. He lost all that he cherished and loved. All his children, his possessions, his health. But despite all this, he was still firm with God. He never rebuked God. Job knows that he was experiencing those things for a reason. After all those suffering, he received greater things than he has before. I realized that I shouldn’t be drifting away just because I’m in pain. God has a purpose. But for Him to be able to work on that purpose for me, I should still be faithful to him. He is my healer. He is my rest. Thank you God, I know that you have plans to prosper me and not to harm me.

Leave a Reply

