Thoughts

Not Just a Semicolon

Have you heard of #ProjectSemiColon?

I have recently come across this when one of my Facebook friends shared a photo of her tattoo which is a semicolon on her wrist. At first I thought it was just my friend being creative and deep once again but then it seemed like I always see those semicolons everywhere. Eventually I realized it was more than just a sentimental tattoo. #ProjectSemicolon is a movement whose cause I fully support.

I particularly love the message behind their name:

“A semicolon represents a sentence the author could have ended, but chose not to. 
The sentence is your life and the author is you.” 
– Project Semicolon

semicolon 01

I’m not one who considers self harm let alone suicide as I am very afraid of blood and death but I have my own share of depression issues. No, I am not clinically diagnosed with it and I know a lot of people out there has been through worse, but by definition I can probably say I suffer from depression. Funny how you understand things more only when you experience it.

I can’t really explain it but from my experience, it is a feeling of sadness and loneliness that you can’t shake off. It kind of eats you alive… and separates you from the things you used to love to do. Well, at least that happened to me. I lost drive. I kept thinking that everything I do doesn’t even matter at all. Sleep became my best friend as it became an escape from reality. What’s worse is that I constantly had to smile and look happy even though deep inside I feel awful.

Words of encouragement didn’t affect me. I don’t know. I just kept thinking they didn’t really mean it and those are just things they have to say at the time. Don’t get me wrong, I do appreciate the thought.. it’s just how I feel. I kept thinking they don’t understand what I’m going through because frankly, I don’t even understand it myself.

Reading through blog posts and watching YouTube videos of people who share similar issues are what really helped me the most. I totally relate to them. Also, just knowing that there are other people out there who have similar experiences but are brave enough to face it and fight it really inspires me to do the same. I guess this is why I’m really drawn to Project Semicolon. Lots of people are empowering one another with just a punctuation, but one that has deeper and greater meaning behind it.

People supporting Project Semicolon usually have tattoos, but I can’t get that so I just drew on my hand using my eyeliner pen. 🙂 If you’re curious about Project Semicolon you can learn more about it right here.

esigELLE

Leave a Reply

