Thoughts

Moments to Treasure

I have written this post before the Into the Tunnel series but obviously things came up and I had to publish those first. Reading it again makes me think that it is a perfect New Year post. Instead of looking at the horrible things that happened this year, it is better to cherish the moments that made us feel good. 

I want to share something dear to me: the Neko that tugged my heart.

I referred to him as “the kitten” for a while when the word “Neko” slipped out. “Neko” is the Japanese word for “cat”. I didn’t really want to give him a name because I told myself I shouldn’t be attached. At the time, I knew I wasn’t ready to have a pet again. A lot was happening then and I knew owning one entails responsibilities.

Who could resist such a cutie though? He was a really sweet kitten, and he makes me smile even though I am super stressed out.

Unfortunately, Neko passed because of an unknown illness and we couldn’t do anything about it. I cried buckets that day. I’ve always considered myself as someone who doesn’t deal well with loss which is the main reason I try to stay unattached to something or someone. But this time it’s different. Suddenly a calmness overcame me and I realized: I was still glad I got the chance to spend time with him. Yes, at first it felt like all the good things are taken away from me but that wasn’t the case. He came into my life unexpectedly but in perfect timing because I was so close to breaking down. 

He reminded me that there are no accidents in life. Everything happens for a reason. I know that’s such a cliché already but its true and yet we always forget. I feel Neko came in that specific point in my life to lift my spirit.

Besides, he left me with a gift. The little moments I shared with Neko would always make me smile and I would treasure them forever. I’m glad I was able to capture some of them. They warm my heart everytime I watch it.

2016 has been the year of losses, but ironically with that loss I gained something else: wisdom. This year I have been thrown out of my comfort zone and into the messy world that is adulthood. I am grateful because I was able to achieve things I was uncertain I could even do. This year I finished all the requirements for graduation, landed on a job and got my first paycheck. I pray 2017 would help me as I further discover myself and find my true calling in life. I pray we all find more moments to treasure.

Have a great year ahead!

Elle

P.S. I uploaded the video of my moments with Neko on YouTube. If you wanna check it out, click here.

P.P.S. I’d also love to hear from you! Let me know if you’ve experienced the same thing. You are not alone! Email me at elleescobia@gmail.com or comment below. 🙂

Leave a Reply

